— Our first visit to Canyon de Chelly (pronounced d-SHAY) National Monument was back in 2006, when we were returning from our Grand Canyon South Rim visit. We had not planned on going by Canyon de Chelly until someone told us about it. This was a very quick visit and drive to the south rim of the canyon to see Spider Rock, the iconic sandstone spire rising 750 ft (229 m) from the canyon floor. We returned to the canyon in 2010 in order to spend more time there and actually tour the canyon floor. This area has been home for the Navajo people and became a national monument on April 1, 1931. The National Park Service only administers Canyon de Chelly. The land is owned by the Navajo Tribal Trust of the Navajo Nation. Down on the canyon floor, there are ruins from Anasazi and Navajo peoples. Today there are still Navajo families living in the canyon. They raise livestock and farm the land. The photo above was taken from the lookout point along the road. To the left of the Spider Rock, you can see a a small dirt road that was used by our tour guide to visit the canyon floor. The photo below was taken in front of Spider Rock on the canyon floor.
Camera: PENTAX X90
Taken: 9 June, 2010
Focal length: 4.6mm
Location: 36° 6.35′ 0″ N 109° 21.3333′ 0″ W
Shutter speed: 1/320s